Engrossing Conversation

15 Aug

 

After a year-long hiatus from Facebook, Pete has rejoined the social network. It was at my request, because I thought that people thought I was just making him up. That I was one of those crazy baby-stealing ladies who tells everyone she’s engaged but really has seven cats.

Well, the moral of the story is be careful what you wish for because he’s back on Facebook, and the quality of our conversation has taken a nosedive.

For instance, the other night, I was reading a fascinating article about a runaway groom.

“Pete,” I said, “You have to hear about this. There’s a groom that ran away. I mean, he just up and LEFT! What do you think of that?!?!?!?!?”

Without even tearing himself away from his precious Facebook friends, Pete just shrugged his shoulders and said, “Sounds good to me.”

He had no idea what I was talking about.

Then, no more than one hour later, I walked into the bedroom, and there he was, curled up in bed, still on Facebook.

“Hi Pete,” I said, sitting down next to him.

“Nothing,” he replied.

That’s weird, because I’m pretty sure when someone says hi, you’re supposed to respond with a similar response – not “Nothing.” That’s something you would say if you THOUGHT someone had asked you what you were doing, since you weren’t really listening at all.

And so, Pete’s back on Facebook.

2 Responses to “Engrossing Conversation”

  1. Mr. P August 15, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Huh. Yeah. I don’t like her either. You’re right.

  2. Ann August 15, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Yes, dear.

Leave a Reply

