Power Outage

17 Jul

Pete and I experienced out first power outage in our new place last weekend. It was the day before that horrible storm that hit Chicago, I think it was just a brown-out or some kind of ComEd accident.

The two of us spent the day in bed, nursing our hangovers from the night before (I had gone out for a few drinks as a mini birthday celebration) watching 30 Rock and the Women’s World Cup on TV.

Pete was sleeping and I was wasting time looking at interior design blogs and fantasizing about Sub-Zero refrigerators when our electricity was cut off.

Then I heard our new neighbor. Within 30 seconds of the lights going out, he was out on the porch, demanding answers.

You would’ve thought he spotted a Nazi plane with the sense of urgency he had about our loss of power. The following is a transcription of the conversation that took place over the following five minutes. He was yelling and everyone else was talking in normal people voices, so I could only hear the following:

“IS YOUR POWER OUT?”

“OUR POWER IS OUT. IS YOUR POWER OUT?”

“HUH. I’LL BE DAMNED. THE WHOLE NEIGHBORHOOD JUST LOST POWER.”

“HAS ANYONE CALLED COMED?”

“YOU KNOW, I THINK THIS IS THE FIRST POWER OUTAGE WE’VE HAD SINCE WE’VE LIVED HERE.”

“NO, I’M NOT WORRIED, JUST SAYING I CAN’T BELIEVE THE POWER’S OUT”

“I’M REALLY WORRIED ABOUT THE FRIDGE.”

“I CANNOT BELIEVE THE POWER’S OUT.”

“OH WAIT, WHAT? COMED’S IN THE ALLEY? THEY’RE IN THE ALLEY?”

“COMED MUST’VE KNOCKED THE POWER OUT.”

That’s how I learned why our power went out.

P.S. In case you’re wondering, why yes, I will be attending Stieg Larsson night at the library this week.

How totally amazing is that Led Zepplin cover by Trent Reznor?!?!?  And I CANNOT WAIT for the movie to come out.

One Response to “Power Outage”

  1. Mr. P July 17, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Pooooooowwwwwweeeeeerrrrrrrrrr!!!!

Leave a Reply

