The Engagement Story

19 Jun

Reenactment of the proposal and me taking the ring out of the box

Pete and I are getting married! Yay!

So that’s good. Here’s the engagement story:

We left for Ireland on a Thursday night (it’s a seven hour flight), and arrived in Dublin on Friday morning. We rented a car and drove four hours to the island his family is from on the west coast, called Achill.

We got to Achill at about 3 p.m. and tried to stay awake for the whole day to get adjusted to Irish time zone. By the time we went to sleep at about 11 that night, I was pretty much a scary zombie lady.

And I was definitely a scary zombie lady when Pete woke me up the next morning at 7.

“It’s going to rain in six hours so if we want to see anything today, you have to get up NOW!” he said.

I put up a fight until Pete gave me the ultimate threat.

“I’ll throw water in your face, I swear I’ll do it,” he said.

So I eventually got out of bed, fearing for my life, and we went for a drive to the top of a mountain called Minaun, which overlooks all of Achill and the Atlantic Ocean. The only other living thing crazy enough to be up there except for us was one single sheep.

“Let’s get out and take a look around,” Pete said.

It was windy and cold out so I suggested we just look around from the comfort of the rental car.

“Just for a minute?” he asked.

So I got out of the car and we looked over the edge for a few seconds before I turned around to shield myself from the 50 mph winds.

Then, out of the corner of my eye, I saw the wind whip a small box out of Pete’s hands and fly. And then I saw Pete running frantically in the same direction.

I had figured out what was about to happen, but because I didn’t know if I was supposed to know what was about to happen, I just stayed frozen where I was, pretending I hadn’t seen Pete run like Chicken Little.

“Turn around for a second Eva,” he said.

So I turned around, and there he was, down on one knee. With a ring in his hand. And all of a sudden he was saying all these nice things about me, and how he really liked me, and I can’t really remember exactly what else he said, but I know it was very sweet. Then he asked me to marry him and tearfully said yes.

Then, I’m not sure why I did this, but I grabbed the ring out of the box and put it on my own hand. I don’t think it’s supposed to go like that, but I just got excited I guess.

The ring, with Minaun and the ocean as the backdrop

We hugged for a long time and then got back in the car, when we called my parents (except my dad was on a plane to Germany at the time and I spent the rest of the day trying to track him down), and his parents, and then hugged again, and I wanted to hug the lone sheep that was staring at us, but I didn’t. And then drove back down the mountain, when we told everyone else.

We drank at his uncle’s pub that night and stayed out until 2 a.m. and didn’t wake up for 13 hours.

It was perfect.

2 Responses to “The Engagement Story”

  1. Mr. P June 19, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Thank you to everyone who knew for keeping the secret. Thanks most of all to the most beautiful, intelligent, and thoughtful fiancée a fiancé could ask for.

  2. Anna June 27, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    married!??!?!!?

Leave a Reply

