Things I learned over Easter weekend

26 Apr

Here are a few things that I learned about my family over Easter weekend:

– My mom is apparently the lead foot of the family. I learned this as she was driving the family to a restaurant on Saturday night and a neighbor yelled after her, “SLOW DOWN!” Except we couldn’t hear what he was saying because my mom was driving too fast. We just saw his mouth moving and his shaking fist as we sped past.

– I’m not sure what’s stranger – that my dad started singing, “Slippin’ on gin and juice” incessantly, or that my mom corrected him by yelling, “It’s not slippin’ it’s sippin’!!!”

– If rumor is correct, my two youngest sisters never visit me in the city because I “go to sleep to early”. Ok, well guess what, 10:30 on a Friday night is really late! Sheesh!

– My boyfriend says really flattering things about me when I’m not around. Like after I went to sleep on Saturday night (it was way past 10:30) one of my sisters passed gas in front of him and in response, he said, “It’s OK. Eva does that all the time.”

– My sister Didgie and my dad really like this show called “Swamp People” and it’s extremely disturbing to me. Not so much that these people trap gators, but that the “Swamp People” wear overalls with no shirt underneath. There’s something very wrong about that. I’m worried that if my dad and sister keep watching the show, they’ll start saying things like, “Dems guud eatin’ ” in unintelligible accents.

3 Responses to “Things I learned over Easter weekend”

  1. Mr. P April 26, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    I stand by my comment regarding flatulence.

  2. Deborah Donaldson April 27, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    I can’t believe how much I love reading these! Love your family! I miss your mom!
    Debbie

    • thisoldlife May 5, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Debbie – I’m so glad you like the blog! I know my mom misses you too – you guys have so much fun together!!!

Leave a Reply

