Chelsea Morning

29 Mar

Joni Mitchell: For cool kids only.

Thanks to Netflix, I’ve been able to watch all these obscure documentaries (which is totally my favorite genre), including one about Joni Mitchell called “Woman of Heart and Mind”. It was pretty good, mostly because I’m a huge Joni Mitchell fan.

Well, that got me thinking about my all time favorite Joni Mitchell story, starring my very own sister, Caroline.

One morning a few years back, Caroline woke up early and it was just one of those days when she was feeling good. Feeling good about life, and the world, and everything else. And what was the one song that exemplified all those groovy feelings she was feeling? Chelsea Morning by Joni Mitchell.

In case you’ve never heard Chelsea Morning, it’s a pretty cheesy song that features the following words and phrases: Christmas bells; pipes and drums; rainbow; crimson crystal beads; sun show; milk; toast; honey; butterscotch; and so on and so forth.

So Caroline gets out of bed and heads downstairs, singing Chelsea Morning at the top of her lungs. She’s really into it and by the time she reaches the bottom of the stairs, she’s well into the first verse of the song.

And that’s when she sees the construction worker that had been standing at the bottom of the steps, waiting for my mom. And he heard the whole thing.

 

3 Responses to “Chelsea Morning”

  1. Mr. P March 29, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    I agree. I am really scared of Chinese people.

  2. CarWHOAline March 30, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    If only I were fortunate enough for it to be a construction worker… The man listening to my morning song was in fact Patrick Carpenter, dad’s coworker- not a “see you once and never again” guy, but a “seen you before and see you again” guy.

    It was probably worth it though, because the sun really did pour in like butterscotch and stuck to all my senses.

    • thisoldlife April 1, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      It was Patrick Carpenter?!?! Can’t believe I blanked out on that part of the story!! However, I am glad you got to experience the sun pouring in like butterscotch – some people go through their whole lives without ever feeling that way.

Leave a Reply

