Our trip to London, i.e. the Cinnamon Bun Story

30 Jan

So tonight I went out to dinner with my family and we took a trip down memory lane and starting talking about the family trip we took to London in 1996. I was 10 and Didgie was 7 – and my two younger sisters stayed at home because they were too little.

Did we talk about Buckingham Palace and the Tower of London and Madame Tussaudes and all the other cool things we got to do and see on our trip?

No.

We talked about the cinnamon bun story.

What is the cinnamon bun story, you might ask? Well, I’ll tell you right now.

On our first day in London, we were really jet lagged so my parents took me and Didgie to Hyde Park just after dawn, since we couldn’t sleep anyways. It was really quiet in the park, and it looked like we were the only people there.

Then we ran into this insane homeless man. He was this older English dude and he was wearing these glasses that looked like they were being held together by paper clips.

And he was definitely up for a conversation. I don’t remember how or why we had even listened to what he was saying in the first place, but apparently, we had stumbled right into the middle of a hedgehog funeral.

Yes, this crazy man told us that when he built a fire for himself in the park, a hedgehog dove into the fire and, sadly, died. And now he was holding a funeral for the poor animal.

We looked down. There was the dead hedgehog, in a casket made of one of those plastic restaurant take-out boxes. The homeless man had tried to turn it into a proper funeral, and had decorated the casket with flowers and sprigs he had found in the park.

“He was really bright too. I had even taught him some tricks,” he told us. That confused me, because if the hedgehog was as bright as this man was telling us, why would it run into a bonfire?

So it was probably one of the most bizarre things I’ve ever seen to this day, and after a few minutes of this weird babbling by the homeless man, we started walking away. The man was still talking as we walked away, but my parents just smiled and waved and told us to keep walking.

For the rest of the trip, Didgie and I would look at each other about every 10 minutes and ask, “What if he’s STILL TALKING?!?!?!?!?” and then we’d start laughing hysterically.

Anyways, we left the park, and here’s where the cinnamon bun comes into the story. We saw – I swear to god – a piece of dog doodie that looked JUST like a cinnamon bun. Like someone had just dropped a perfectly good cinnamon bun in the middle of the street accidently.

So, as you can imagine, we thought this was pretty freaking funny.

Just as we were recovering from the homeless man/cinnamon bun combo, Didgie looked up at me, and her eyes got really big.

“What if someone thinks it’s real and tries to EAT IT?!?!?!?!?” she asked.

Well, that just put us over the top and I don’t think I’ve ever laughed that hard in my whole life.

And I’ve never looked at a cinnamon bun the same way since.

Our other memory from that trip: When Didgie threw up in a bowl of oatmeal.

So, all in all, in turned out to be a pretty awesome trip.

In other news, Pete is watching Freaks and Geeks and just texted me to let me know that Millie reminds him of me. Ahhh, how sweet it is to be loved by Pete.

2 Responses to “Our trip to London, i.e. the Cinnamon Bun Story”

  1. Mr. P January 30, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    You and Millie’s love of sweets 24/7 is no coincidence. “I love fun dip. It makes my spit taste like Fruit Punch.”

  2. Deborah Donaldson January 31, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I love your blog. And I especially love your family!!!

Leave a Reply

