New Years Eve: An Illustrated Event

4 Jan

How was your New Year’s?

Oh wow, that sounds cool. Here’s how mine went down:

I spent the holidays at my parents in the burbs. So in the morning, I got my nails done with my mom and Sister Caroline and Sister Didgie. Sister Anna was too feeble and sleepy to make the trip, just like Colin from the Secret Garden.

Anna feeling too sleepy and feeble to get her nails did

After leaving the nail salon with FABULOUS sparkly purple fingernails, we promptly convinced my mother that we were STARVING for breakfast at Northfield Diner and we’d just DIE if we couldn’t eat cheese omelettes.

After breakfast at Northfield Diner, we convinced my mother that we were PARCHED for coffee at Starbucks and we’d just DIE if we couldn’t drink venti non-fat vanilla lattes to wash down our omelettes.

Then we made a pit stop at the dry cleaners. There is a mean lady who works there and she looks like this:

Mean lady at the cleaners a.k.a. Ludo from Labyrinth

When we finally got back to my parents, we attempted to wake up Sister Anna from her deep slumber. This is what she looked like:

Anna in the morning

I finally made it back to the city in the late afternoon and got ready to go. I put on spanx and control-top panty hose, and with my fat firmly vacuum-sealed into my gut, I was ready to head out the door at 3:50 p.m. Unfortunately, our New Year’s extravaganza didn’t start until 6:30 p.m., so I watched YouTube videos until my friends Karen and Sam came over a few hours later. Here’s what I watched to get me in the mood for New Year’s:

The party we went to at a banquet hall on the Northwest side was AWESOME! See how much fun I’m having with Adam, Pete’s roommate:

Aren't we cute???

We danced, ate great Italian food, drank some alcohol (but not too much) and laughed a lot. And I’m pretty sure the guy sitting next to me was Ogre from Revenge of the Nerds (and it wasn’t Pete – it was the guy sitting on the other side of me):

An Ogre at my table?

It was definitely a fun day. Things I’m looking forward to in 2011 include my upcoming trips to Mexico and Ireland with Peter! And don’t worry – I’ll definitely be blogging your eyes off this year!!!

One Response to “New Years Eve: An Illustrated Event”

  1. Mr. P January 4, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Ludo is a nice monster in Labyrinth. Don’t bring down his good name.

Leave a Reply

