Men are hard to shop for: Part II

2 Jan

As I’m sure you’ve been waiting with bated breath, the time has come to reveal my Christmas present to Peter (see Men are hard to shop for: Part I). I got him a 1941 Waltham military watch. Here’s a pic:

I ordered it on eBay, and when I first got it in the mail, I was worried because the face was smaller than I had imagined and I thought it looked too feminine. It also had this terrible tacky expandable metal band (which wasn’t original to the watch). So I asked my dad what he thought.

“It’s nice. Really nice,” my dad said. “But you have to get rid of that band. It looks too femmy. It looks awful.”

So I bought a new brown leather watch band and it did look MUCH better. It turns out that the band was a little too small for Pete’s monstrous wrists, but it’s only $20, so I can get him a new one, no biggie.

Here’s what Pete has to say about the watch:

“I like my watch for four reasons: 1. It’s pragmatic. 2. It’s something I would never buy for myself, but something I wanted. 3. It’s unique. 4. It’s something I can use everyday.”

“And don’t forget number five!” my mom added. “It was gifted with LOVE!”

“Yes,” Pete said. “That’s right. I like my watch for five reasons.”

I, on the other hand, got some super duper awesome Christmas/Hanukkah presents. I don’t want to name them all because they are so awesome you would probably want to rob me or something, but I did get a really cool giant picture frame that I want to hang above my bed but I’m afraid it will fall on me while I’m sleeping and kill me. I also got a baby orangutan named Luna (This is my second venture in international primate adoption. I named my first orangutan Bono.)

And that was just Christmas. I can’t wait to tell you about New Years.

 

One Response to “Men are hard to shop for: Part II”

  1. Mr. P January 4, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Best gift ever.

Leave a Reply

