Worst girlfriend ever.

9 Oct

Jan from the Office: Also a terrible girlfriend

This weekend marks two occasions worth celebrating:

1. Pete’s birthday! It’s on Sunday and we’re going out tonight and then again next weekend.

2. Our relationship hits the one year mark! This is also happening on Sunday (we met at his birthday party last year).

Over the past few weeks, I’ve arranged several events in honor of both of these occasions. I made reservations at Joe’s Stone Crab for Sunday night (for the birthday) and I’ve also purchased us a night of French cooking at some local French place (for the anniversary).

As for a birthday gift, all Pete wanted was this video game, NBA 2K11. While I was planning on buying this for him, I tried to throw him off the scent by telling him that I got him something else. “It’s really expensive and I already bought it!” I told him. This strategy resulted in exaggerated foot stomping and pouting as we walked around Golf Mill mall last week (we saw the Social Network, it was really good). So I had to back peddle and confess that it was my plan to indeed buy him the NBA 2K11.

Everything was fine until Thursday when Pete called and said, “Guess what?? Chris bought me NBA 2K11 for my birthday and he’s bringing it over on Friday and we’re going to play for six hours straight and then maybe get some lunch and it’s GOING TO BE AWESOME.”

It was at that moment I decided that Chris is a bastard.

Pete said I didn’t have to worry about giving him a gift. But “Just in case…” he followed that message up with a long wish list of items he’s secretly been pining for – all gifts that will take time, research and lots of money to acquire. So I really don’t know what to do (I know you’re probably thinking that I should buy him a basket of male skin care products — already did that for Christmas last year!!).

AND IT GETS WORSE.

Pete recently revealed that he plans to take me to North Pond for Sunday brunch to celebrate our anniversary. I kind of figured that would be the extent of our anniversary plans. I was wrong.

Yesterday at work, Pete sent me flowers. Like the most beautiful flowers in the world. Peach colored roses. All the ladies ooohed and awwwed and it was really really sweet. And the panic starting setting in.

AND IT GETS WORSE.

Sometimes when Pete and I about to go to sleep, he’ll read me this blog that we both really like, called Kissing Suzy Kolber. As I was drifting off to the sound of his voice last night, I vaguely remember him saying something about another gift, and would I like it now or tomorrow.

I must’ve answered tomorrow because this morning, he presented me with a second gift – a subscription to Netflix which is AWESOME and something I’ve been talking about since my sisters got the free trial earlier this year. And there’s a third present coming too – I don’t know what it is but I’ll be getting it tomorrow, according to Pete.

I still have no birthday gift for Pete. Nothing to surprise him with. No flowers. No candy. No card. And worst of all, not even an idea.

Even my mom got Pete a birthday gift. And a card. I AM THE WORST GIRLFRIEND IN THE HISTORY OF GIRLFRIENDS.

2 Responses to “Worst girlfriend ever.”

  1. Mr. P October 10, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Awwww. Your love is the only gift I need. And sports memorabilia. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Men are hard to shop for « This Old Life - December 20, 2010

    […] Pete, my boyfriend, is a whole different ball game (See Worst girlfriend ever). Over the past year, his gifts have become more thoughtful and I look like an idiot as I continue […]

Leave a Reply

