And so the torture begins…

20 Sep

In approximately seven hours, I will pull my tired butt out of bed and head to Diversey Harbor for my first Bulldog Bootcamp class. I’M SO NERVOUS! I got a four-week fitness pass on Groupon and this is totally going to hurt.

I was reading reviews on Yelp, and one girl complained that her friend fell and hurt her elbow and the drill sergeant just stood over her yelling for her to get up. OMG that is terrible! (Note to self: Do not fall in bootcamp unless you want to cry in bootcamp.)

Last week, I received a three-page list of rules and regulations from “Sgt. Friday”, including (emphasis his):

“- I hate tardiness & is NOT tolerated. There are consequences for the entire class when one person is late. When you’re late you interrupt me as well as the entire class.

– We only meet 3x/wk, so make sure you do your best to get here for every class. THERE ARE NO MAKE UP CLASSES BEYOND YOUR SESSION. The class you signed up for is the class you NEED to attend.

– Counting in my class is MANDATORY, not optional. Therefore, if your counting is not up to my standards during class, you will either repeat the whole exercise OR some other punishment will follow!”

OMG I’m always late for everything!!! It’s a disease, I swear I can’t help it! What if I’m late one day and then all the other bootcampers get really mad and pelt me with their “MANDATORY” water bottles!!!!

But luckily, I’m really good at counting out loud. I always do it at the gym even though the stairmaster guy gives me the evil eye every time.

In other news, I spent my weekend watching the below YouTube clip. The funny thing is, I have a feeling I look just like this kid when I sing in the car.

5 Responses to “And so the torture begins…”

  1. Claire September 30, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    That video creeps me out. I can’t tell if that dude is 10 year old or 30 years old…

  2. Mr. P October 1, 2010 at 4:02 am #

    Does he have Down Syndrome?

    • thisoldlife October 2, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      I actually think he’s a little person. But I appreciate your political correctness.

  3. Mawarner October 12, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Every time that song comes on the radio I lip-synch like that kid through the whole thing!!! I can’t get him out of my head!!!!

    • thisoldlife October 14, 2010 at 2:42 am #

      I know Maggie!!! I have to watch that video at least once per day or I just don’t feel right!
      Kloveyoubye!

Leave a Reply

